Texas Armed First Responder

The Texas Armed First Responder Certification Course was created in 2021 under Texas HB 1069. It is intended to enable on-duty Texas firefighters and emergency medical responders from rural areas to carry a handgun while on duty.

The idea is that first responders in sparsely populated areas may not be able to count on law enforcement backup being readily available.

While anyone with a Texas License to Carry can take the course, only those first responders from qualifying districts will receive the DPS certificate guaranteeing the right to carry on duty.

The law also absolves the government entity from liability but first responders who qualify are required to carry $1 million in liability insurance.

To qualify to carry on duty under this program, first responders must be from a municipality with a population of 30,000 or less or a county with a population of 250,000 or less.

First responders from qualifying areas who take the course receive the DPS LTC-103 Certificate of Training and submit that to the DPS for certification.

Here are course specifics as specified by the Texas Department of Public Safety:

  • The course runs 28 hours over three days and there is a maximum class size of six students.
  • ​This is an intermediate/advanced course where physical demonstrations of proficiency are required in techniques learned in training.
  • After successful completion of this course, qualified first responders will receive a certificate of completion for the training course under section 411.184, Government code.


Physical elements of the training include:

  • Tactical shooting
  • Shooting while moving
  • Shooting in low-light conditions
  • Physical demonstrations of proficiency in techniques learned in training, including shooting from behind barricades.


Required Equipment:

Additional information:

  • A pre-test examination and proficiency demonstration will be administered toeach student on the first day. Students must score a minimum of 90% on the pre-test and 90% on the proficiency demonstration to remain in the course.
  • A post-exam will be administered to each student on the third day and students must score a minimum of 90% to pass the course.
    Instructions on handling handguns at the proficiency demonstration will be provided during classroom instruction. Handguns must be stored in a closed carrying case/bag.
  • No time will be allotted for practice (outside of prescribed drills) or to zero the handguns during the class.
  • Students must abide by all range safety rules. Failure to comply with safety rules will result in immediate removal from the range, and result in course failure.
  • No family members, guests, or pets will be allowed in the classroom or at the range.
  • Students need the physical ability to move to various shooting positions and to stand for an extended period of time while participating in shooting drills.


This is an intermediate – advanced course where statute requires physical demonstrations of proficiency in techniques learned in training.

If you are interested in this course, please contact Tom Fenton at tomfenton@elpasocarry.com or via cell phone or text to 915.6i37-5442